Sisters in Crime / Mystery Writers of America Northern California Holiday Party, Saturday, December 9th at 2:00 pm

Writers With Drinks (at the Make-Out Room, 3225 22nd St, San Francisco) with authors Becky Chambers, Alyssa Cole, David D. Levine, Dean Rader, Lauren Sanders and Danna Staaf, Saturday, December 9th at 6:30 pm
SF in SF (at the American Bookbinders' Museum, 355 Clementina St. San Francisco) with authors Ben Loory and Ken Scholes, Sunday, December 10th at 6:30 pm
Steve Ryfle, ISHIRO HONDA: A LIFE IN FILM, FROM GODZILLA TO KUROSAWA (Wesleyan, Hardcover, $32.95) Saturday, January 6th, 2018 at 3:00 pm
Seanan McGuire, BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY (Tor.com, Hardcover, $17.99)  Thursday, January 11th at 6:00 pm
Kate Elliott presents "Do Not Be Satisfied With Stories: Narrative Structure and Expectations" Friday, January 12th at 6:00 pm
Sisters in Crime / Mystery Writers of America Northern California Holiday Party, Saturday, December 9th at 2:00 pm - Join us and more than two dozen fabulous local mystery writers for a fun holiday party!  There will be light refreshments and the chance to mingle with, and get books signed by, fantastic authors.  Don't miss this chance to meet so many writers all at the same time, and enjoy a rousing kick-off to the party season -- we'll be joined by Dale Berry, Mysti Berry, Susan Bickford, John Billheimer, Thomas Burchfield, Jen Dornan-Fish (Ellison Cooper), Ted Haynes, Wendy Hornsby, Jerry Kennealy, Laurie R. King, Bette Lamb, JJ Lamb, S. S. Mausoof, Catriona McPherson, Beth McMullen, Gigi Pandian, Eileen Rendahl (Kristi Abbott), Kirk Russell, Terry Shames, and Nancy Tingley, and many, many more!  This event is open to the public, and we do hope you'll be able to attend!
Writers With Drinks (at the Make-Out Room, 3225 22nd St, San Francisco) with authors Becky Chambers, Alyssa Cole, David D. Levine, Dean Rader, Lauren Sanders and Danna Staaf, Saturday, December 9th at 6:30 pm - Writers With Drinks is the most awesome spoken-word variety show in the world, hosted by Charlie Jane Anders, and we're always happy to participate!  The amazing lineup this month includes authors Becky Chambers (A Closed and Common Orbit), Alyssa Cole (An Extraordinary Union), David D. Levine (Arabella and the Battle of Venus), Dean Rader (Self Portrait as Wikipedia Entry), Lauren Sanders (The Book of Love and Hate), and Danna Staaf (Squid Empire: Rise and Fall of the Cephaolpods).  Cost: $5 to $20, no-one turned away for lack of funds.  All proceeds benefit local non-profits. Doors open at 6:30 and Borderlands will be on hand to sell books.
SF in SF (at the American Bookbinders' Museum, 355 Clementina St. San Francisco) with authors Ben Loory and Ken Scholes, Sunday, December 10th at 6:30 pm - (Suggested donation $10, no one turned away for lack of funds.)  Doors and bar at 6:00 pm, event begins at 6:30 pm.  We're so happy to participate in the Science Fiction in San Francisco reading series!  The authors will read a selection from their work, followed by Q&A from the audience moderated by author Terry Bisson.  The authors will schmooze & sign books after.  Books available for sale courtesy of Borderlands Books.  Seating is limited, so first come, first seated.  Bar proceeds benefit the American Bookbinders Museum.   Phone (night of event) 415-572-1015.  Questions? Email sfinsfevents@gmail.com.
Steve Ryfle, ISHIRO HONDA: A LIFE IN FILM, FROM GODZILLA TO KUROSAWA (Wesleyan, Hardcover, $32.95) Saturday, January 6th, 2018 at 3:00 pm - From the book description: "Ishiro Honda was arguably the most internationally successful Japanese director of his generation, with an unmatched succession of science fiction films that were commercial hits worldwide.  From the atomic allegory of Godzilla and the beguiling charms of Mothra to the tragic mystery of Matango and the disaster and spectacle of Rodan, The Mysterians, King Kong vs. Godzilla, and many others, Honda?s films reflected postwar Japan's real-life anxieties and incorporated fantastical special effects, a formula that appealed to audiences around the globe and created a popular culture phenomenon that spans generations. Now, in the first full account of this long overlooked director's life and career, authors Steve Ryfle and Ed Godziszewski shed new light on Honda?s work and the experiences that shaped it -- including his days as a reluctant Japanese soldier, witnessing the aftermath of Hiroshima, and his lifelong friendship with Akira Kurosawa. ISHIRO HONDA: A LIFE IN FILM FROM GODZILLA TO KUROSAWA, features close analysis of Honda's films (including, for the first time, his rarely seen dramas, comedies, and war films) and draws on previously untapped documents and interviews to explore how creative, economic, and industrial factors impacted his career. The authors cover Honda's non-science fiction films for the first time in any language. Fans of Honda, Godzilla, and tokusatsu (special effects) film, and of Japanese film in general, will welcome this in-depth study of a highly influential director who occupies a uniquely important position in science fiction and fantasy cinema, as well as in world cinema."  We certainly hope you'll join us to meet author Steve Ryfle -- bring your questions!
Seanan McGuire, BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY (Tor.com, Hardcover, $17.99)  Thursday, January 11th at 6:00 pm - We're just thrilled to welcome Seanan McGuire back to Borderlands!  This time Seanan's showing off the sweet, third entry in the Wayward Children series (sequel to EVERY HEART A DOORWAY and DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES).  The tone of this volume is very different, but just as brilliant.  From the book description: "When Rini lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West's Home for Wayward Children, the last thing she expects to find is that her mother, Sumi, died years before Rini was even conceived.  But Rini can?t let Reality get in the way of her quest -- not when she has an entire world to save! (Much more common than one would suppose.)  If she can't find a way to restore her mother, Rini will have more than a world to save: she will never have been born in the first place.  And in a world without magic, she doesn?t have long before Reality notices her existence and washes her away. Good thing the student body is well-acquainted with quests. . .  A tale of friendship, baking, and derring-do.  Warning: May contain nuts."  We do hope you'll join us!
Kate Elliott presents "Do Not Be Satisfied With Stories: Narrative Structure and Expectations" Friday, January 12th at 6:00 pm - We're thrilled to welcome author and sponsor Kate Elliott, who will be doing a (rescheduled) fascinating powerpoint lecture (all images or short clips! no boring text slides!) on how the expectations we bring to a story influence how we engage with the story, with a particular emphasis on how opening paragraphs (and opening sequences in films) often rely on familiarity and cultural knowledge to draw us in.  Kate will focus on science fiction and fantasy stories, most of which will be familiar to Borderlands Books' customers.  Kate has given versions of this presentation to acclaim at Sasquan/Worldcon 2015 and at the Sirens Conference 2015.  She will be happy to answer questions and sign books after the lecture.  We hope you'll join us for this interesting and practical event!
Borderlands event policy - all events are free of charge.  You are welcome to bring copies of an author's books purchased elsewhere to be autographed (but we do appreciate it if you purchase something while at the event).  For most events you are welcome to bring as many books as you wish for autographs.  If you are unable to attend the event we will be happy to have a copy of any of the author's available books signed or inscribed for you.  We can then either hold the book(s) until you can come in to pick them up or we can ship to you.  Just give us a call or drop us an email.  If you live out of town, you can also ship us books from your collection to be signed for a nominal fee.  Call or email for details.