Click me to see what SinisterVisions can do for you!



Events and News from Borderlands Books


Chapter One - Event Information, News, and Special Feature

Monday, December 6th to Friday, December 10th from 2 PM to 6 PM, Alan Clark and Jay Lake STIRRING THE FEAR WITHIN

Wednesday, December 8th at 1 PM, Christopher Moore drop by signing for THE STUPIDEST ANGEL

Friday, December 10th at 7 PM, Reception for Alan Clark and Jay Lake

(for more information check the end of this section)


It's December, which means all kinds of things . . . but at Borderlands it means that, as usual, we'll have complementary coffee, hot chocolat, and tea all month (with the occasional sweet treat as well) and our hours will be extended.  From December1st untill Christmas we'll be open from noon to 10 pm on Friday and Saturday and noon to 8 pm Sunday to Thursday.  We are also, as always, open by appointment if your schedule is super busy.  Just give us a call and we'll set up a time to open the store for you.  Also, we'll be working some late nights so, if you're a little late and want to give us a call, we're willing to stay open later so you can get your last minute shopping done.

We'll be closed on Christmas day and New Years day and also closing earily on the 24th (at 6 pm) and the 31st (at 4 pm).

It also means that it's time for our holiday gift guide -

Borderlands' Holiday Gift Guide

Here are some gift ideas from the Borderlands staff.  Each suggestion starts with the type of reader and is followed by one (or more) titles that they might like.  If these don't do it for you, we're happy to make more suggestions - just tell us about the person you're shopping for.  Can't decide?  We have gift certificates available in any amount.  Gift wrapping is available, and we can ship almost anywhere in the world.  Enjoy!

Fantasy reader who's waiting for the next George R.R. Martin book - GARDENS OF THE MOON by Steven Erickson (Tor, Hardcover, $24.95)

Cutting edge SF geek - SINGULARITY SKY (Ace, Mass Market, $7.99) and / or the stand alone sequel IRON SUNRISE (Ace, Hardcover, $23.95) by Charley Stross

Literary fantasy reader - THE KNIGHT (Tor, Hardcover, $25.95) and THE WIZARD (Tor, Hardcover, $25.95) by Gene Wolfe

High-brow horror reader - IN THE NIGHT ROOM (Random House, Hardcover, $21.95) by Peter Straub

Low-brow horror reader - THE RISING (Leisure, Mass Market, $6.99) by Brian Keene

Lover of classic fantasy - THE COMING OF CONAN THE CIMMERIAN (Del Rey, Trade Paperback, $14.95) and THE BLOODY CROWN OF CONAN by Robert E. Howard (Del Rey, Trade Paperback, $15.95)

Lover of classic SF - THE SCIENCE FICTION HALL OF FAME VOLUME TWO A (Tor, Hardcover, $29.95) edited by Ben Bova

Ghost Story fan - GREAT GHOST STORIES - TALES OF MYSTERY AND MADNESS either in softcover (Carroll & Graf, Trade Paperback, $12.95) or hardcover (Cemetery Dance, Hardcover, $40.00)

Anyone who needs a great book - HAWKES HARBOR (Tor, Hardcover, $21.95)

Plus we have lots of lovely journals and blank books, wooden boxes, DVDs, and other gifts.

Book Club Info

The Gay Men's Book Club will meet on Sunday, December 12th, at 5 pm to discuss SINGULARITY SKY by Charles Stross.  Please contact the group leader, Christopher Rodriguez, at, for more information.

The Classic Science Fiction and Fantasy Book Club will meet on Sunday, December 19th at 6 pm to discuss FUTURES PAST by A.E. van Vogt. The book for January is JENNIFER GOVERNMENT by Max Barry.  Please contact Jude at for more information.

Upcoming Event Details

Monday, December 6th to Friday, December 10th from 2 PM to 6 PM, Alan Clark and Jay Lake STIRRING THE FEAR WITHIN

Where can you watch an award-winning painter and an award-winning artist collaboratively produce an illustrated work of fiction in just one week?  Borderlands, of course!  Once again we're pleased to have artist Alan Clark (creator of THE PAINT IN MY BLOOD and winner of the World Fantasy Award) and author Jay Lake (author of AMERICAN SORROWS and winner of this year's John W. Campbell Jr. award) set up shop in the middle of our store for a week of spontaneous creative work.  They'll be working from two 'till six every day and are always happy to chat with visitors about their work, creative processes, and the field in general.  If you are an aspiring artist or author or if you just like to chat with creative people do not miss this chance to visit with two of the most pleasant people in the field.

Wednesday, December 8th at 1 PM, Christopher Moore drop by signing for THE STUPIDEST ANGEL

Chris will be stopping by the store briefly to sign copies of his newest novel (see description below).  If you would like a copy inscribed for you (or as a gift for a friend) just let us know and we'll take care of it for you.  Also, if you would like to drop any books by the store, we'll try (but we can't promise) to get them signed.  And finally, if you're free that afternoon, you're welcome to stop by and say hello.

THE STUPIDEST ANGEL by Christopher Moore (William Morrow, Other Hardcover, $14.95) - It's another lonesome Christmas in the sleepy little tourist town of Pine Cove, where the angel Razael has arrived to find a child and perform a Christmas miracle.  Of course, being the stupidest angel, he botches it completely, and the town is overrun by brain-eating zombies.  This "heartwarming tale of Christmas terror" by Borderlands' fave funny dude Christopher Moore is just sick enough to cure the holiday blues. - Recommended by Cary
"If you're buying this book as a gift for your grandma or a kid, you should be aware that it contains cusswords as well as tasteful depictions of cannibalism and people in their forties having sex.  Don't blame me.  I told you." - The Author's Warning

Friday, December 10th at 7 PM, Reception for Alan Clark and Jay Lake

This reception will wrap up our week with Alan and Jay.  They'll present the finished product of the week's work and sign copies of their books.  Refreshments will be provided.

Borderlands event policy - all events are free of charge.  You are welcome to bring copies of an author's books purchased elsewhere to be autographed (but we do appreciate it if you purchase something while at the event), except for some special events.  For most events you are welcome to bring as many books as you wish for autographs.  If you are unable to attend the event, we will be happy to have a copy of the author's book signed or inscribed for you.  We can then either hold it until you can come in to pick it up or we can ship it to you.  Just give us a call or drop us an email.  If you live out of town, you can also ship us books from your collection to be signed.  Call or email for details.

Chapter Two - Book Listings

MEN AND CARTOONS by Jonathan  Lethem  (Doubleday, Hardcover, $19.95) - Collected short fiction by this master of the surreal.

BAD MAGIC by Stephan Zielinski (Tor, Hardcover, $23.95) - Dark magic and secret wars in modern San Francisco by this local author.  Though it shows some of the weaknesses of a first novel, it's an interesting story that will appeal to fans of Tim Powers, Doctor Strange, and the Bordertown books.  Recommended by Alan.

THE SCIENCE FICTION HALL OF FAME VOLUME TWO A edited by Ben Bova (Tor, Hardcover, $29.95) - The second of four must have collections of classic SF.  If you want a copy, move fast since the first volume is already out of print in hardcover.

THE FAMILY TRADE - THE MERCHANT PRINCES, VOL. 1 by Charles Stross (Tor, Hardcover, $24.95) - The eagerly awaited start of this talented British author's fantasy series.  If you enjoyed Zelazny's Amber books you might want to give this tale of alternate realities a try.

THE LIFE OF THE WORLD TO COME - COMPANY VOL. 5 by Kage Baker (Tor, Hardcover, $25.95) - The follow up to GRAVEYARD GAME.  According to Jude you can read this one without having read GRAVEYARD GAME but, if you want to wait, Tor will be reprinting G GAME shortly.

THE RUNES OF EARTH - THOMAS COVENANT VOL.7 by Stephen R. Donaldson  (Putnam, Hardcover, $26.95) - The first volume in what is promised, right on the cover, to be "The last chronicles of Thomas Covenant".  You pay your money and you take your chances.

DAYS OF INFAMY by Harry Turtledove (New American Library, Hardcover, $24.95)

DARK WATER by Koji Suzuki (Vertical, Hardcover, $21.95)

DARK OF THE SUN - A NOVEL OF SAINT GERMAINE by Chelsea Quinn Yarbro (Tor, Hardcover, $27.95)

HANDBOOK OF AMERICAN PRAYER by Lucius Shepard (Thunder’s Mouth Press, Hardcover, $22.00)

SLIDING SCALES - A PIP AND FLINX NOVEL by Alan Dean  Foster  (Del Rey, Hardcover, $24.95)

HOSTILE TAKEOVER by Susan Schwartz (Tor, Hardcover, $24.95)

LURULU by Jack Vance (Tor, Hardcover, $22.95)

TREASON KEEP - HYTHRUN CHRONICLES, VOL. 2 by Jennifer Fallon (Tor, Hardcover, $25.95)

REFLEX by Steven Gould (Tor, Hardcover, $25.95)

EXULTANT by Stephen Baxter (Ballantine, Hardcover, $25.95)

IN THE NIGHT ROOM by Peter  Straub  (Random House, Hardcover, $21.95)

GHOSTLANDS - MAGIC TIME VOL. 3 by Marc Scott Zicree (Eos, Hardcover, $25.95)

THE GOBLIN COMPANION - A FIELD GUIDE TO GOBLINS by Brian Froud (Pavillion, Other Hardcover, $12.34)

BRIAN FROUD’S GOBLINS! by Brian Froud (Abrams, Oversized Hardcover, $25.00)

THE ART OF DISCWORLD by Terry Pratchett (HarperCollins, Oversized Hardcover, $29.95)

DARKNESS VISIBLE: INSIDE THE WORLD OF PHILIP PULLMAN by Nicholas Tucker (ibooks, Trade Paperback, $12.95) - Non-fiction.  A comprehensive study of the life and work of the best-selling author of THE GOLDEN COMPASS

THIS IMMORTAL by Roger Zelazny (ibooks, Trade Paperback, $11.95) - Finally back in print after years of rarity, this is the novel that won Zelazny his first Hugo award (the original title was AND CALL ME CONRAD) and tells the tale of one immortal's attempt to combat an alien invasion of Earth.  Recommended by Alan.

THE BLOODY CROWN OF CONAN by Robert E. Howard (Del Rey, Trade Paperback, $15.95) - The second volume of the original Conan stories, lovingly illustrated and with corrected text.  With the companion volume, THE COMING OF CONAN THE CIMMERIAN, the definitive US collection of these stories.  Recommended by Alan.

THE WINTER OAK by James A. Hetley (Ace, Trade Paperback, $14.00)

IN THE LANDS THAT NEVER WERE - TALES  OF SWORDS AND SORCERY edited by Gordon Van Gelder (Thunder’s Mouth Press, Trade Paperback, $15.95)

LORD JOHN AND THE PRIVATE MATTER - LORD JOHN VOL.1  by Diana Gabaldon  (Delta , Trade Paperback, $10.00)

THE NIGHTMARE AND OTHER TALES OF DARK FANTASY by Francis Stevens (Bison Books, Trade Paperback, $19.95)

THE ETCHED CITY by K.J. Bishop (Bantam Spectra, Trade Paperback, $14.00)

THE ESSENTIAL PHANTOM OF THE OPERA by Gaston Leroux (ibooks, Trade Paperback, $14.95)


NIGHT’S EDGE by Maggie Shayne (Harlequin, Mass Market, $6.99)

STOLEN - WOMEN OF THE OTHERWORLD, VOL. 2 by Kelly Armstrong (Plume, Mass Market, $6.99)

SINGING THE DOGSTAR BLUES by Alison Goodman (Firebird, Mass Market, $6.99)

THE FAR SIDE OF THE STARS by David Drake (Baen, Mass Market, $7.99)

FOR US, THE LIVING: A COMEDY OF CUSTOMS by Robert A. Heinlein (Pocket, Mass Market, $7.99)

TINKER by Wen Spencer (Baen, Mass Market, $6.99)

BURNING LAND by Victoria Strauss (Eos, Mass Market, $7.99)

THE ANVIL OF THE WORLD by Kage Baker (Tor, Mass Market, $6.99)

TOOTH AND CLAW by Jo Walton (Tor, Mass Market, $6.99)

This newsletter is distributed monthly free of charge and may be redistributed without charge so long all the following information is included.

Dispatches from the Border
Editor - Madeline Ruegg
Assistant Editor - Alan Beatts
Contributors - Jude Feldman, Cary Heater

All contents unless otherwise noted are the property of

Borderlands Books
866 Valencia St.
San Francisco, CA  94110

Comments and suggestions should be directed to